Finally! UP Gets its Brand New Chief Minister!!


17th Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly Elections were held between 11 February to 8 March 2017 in 7 phases. A total number of 403 seats were on stake in Uttar Pradesh in these elections. This election saw a voter turnout of 60-61% compared to 59.48% in the previous elections.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won this election by an overwhelming three-quarter majority of 325 seats, despite of not projecting a chief ministerial candidate before the election. There was a tussle among BJP for the Chief Ministerial Candidate. Rajnath Singh, Mahesh Sharma and some others were the people of which UP was expecting their next Chief Minister.

Uttar Pradesh Elections 2017

On March 18, 2017 Yogi Adityanath has been declared the next CM of Uttar Pradesh. He is a Member of Parliament from Gorakhpur Constituency in the Lok Sabha (lower house of the Indian Parliament) since 1998. Adityanath is the Mahant (Head Priest) of the Gorakhnath Muth in Gorakhpur.He has been holding this post from September 2014 after the death of his father Mahant Avedyanath. He is also founder of the Hindu Yuva Vahini, a social, cultural and nationalist group of youth who seek to provide rightist Hindu platform.

Yogi Adityanath, Narendra Modi and Rajnath Singh

Adityanath has had a strained relation with the BJP for more than a decade. With the emergence of a separate powerbase, he has been seeking greater power, causing further conflicts.

Mahant Ji will be the 32nd Chief Minister of UP

On 22–24 December 2006, Adityanath organised a three-day Virat Hindu Mahasammelan at Gorakhpur, during the same period when the BJP was holding its National Executive Meet in Lucknow in the same state. The UP election 2007, saw a conflict between Adityanath and the BJP leadership – he wanted more than hundred seats in this region to go to candidates selected by him, but the party leadership would not agree. Subsequently, a compromise agreement was reached, possibly with inputs from the RSS, and eight of his candidates were fielded.

In March 2010, Adityanath was one of several BJP MPs who stated defiance to the party whip on the Women’s Reservation Bills.

He overtook all other contenders….

With great efforts and power, he was a strong contender for the post of chief minister in Uttar Pradesh. He was successful in converting his Candidature for the Post. He will be sworn in tomorrow at Lucknow’s sprawling Smriti Upvan complex near the Ambedkar memorial at 2.15 pm. Yogi will be the 32nd  Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh.

Congratulations to him for the same and best wishes for prosperous, upcoming years to Uttar Pradesh.

But the questions lie the same that will he be able to change the condition of UP….

Can he resolve the problems regarding poverty, education and population…?

Do write your views about election of Mahant…


Write What You Feel....